Using the chat in Greenroom is a great way to stay connected with Presenters and Producers before or during a broadcast session. In this article, we'll give you an overview and understanding of the Greenroom chat feature, give an overview of chat notifications, and show you how to create a new chatroom.

Video Overview

Understanding the Chat Functionality

The chat tab allows for written communication among Presenters and Producers, before or during a Greenroom show.

By default, you'll be able to see a "Presenter chat" room that includes all the current Presenters and Producers. If turned on from the Greenroom Settings toggles, you'll also see the Brandlive Q&A chat room which allows Brandlive Admin Moderators to forward comments and questions from a Brandlive  session page to Greenroom for the Producer and/or Presenters to answer.

Screen_Shot_2023-02-08_at_12.37.11_PM.png

You’ll also be able to see a list of all participants in Greenroom that you can individually message.

Once the Greenroom show goes live, the chat functionality is hugely important to coordinate remotely. You can chat to individual Presenters, a custom group of Presenters, or to the entire Greenroom via "Presenter chat". 

Check out our article on adjusting Greenroom settings for more info on setting up the Brandlive Q&A option.

 

Chat Notifications

For every chat room or direct message you don't already have open, each message you receive will show up as a temporary toaster notification in the top right-hand corner of your screen. You'll also see a notification appear over the chat tab icon, as well as notifications on the respective threads where new messages exists (both for rooms and direct messages). Until a message is read, those notifications will remain.
 
If you already have a room or direct message open and are receiving messages through that thread, you will not receive a toaster notification or any other notifications over the chat tab or the thread; because the chat is open, the new messages register as "read". This functionality works the same for recipients of messages you send. 
 
Remember that notifications help to draw attention to chats that occur during live shows. They do NOT disrupt or appear on a live broadcast. 
 
Screen_Shot_2023-02-09_at_12.39.08_PM.png
Creating a New Chat Room
If you’d like to communicate with a specific group, use the “+ Add a room” feature to begin a custom group chat.
 
Screen_Shot_2023-02-09_at_12.14.01_PM.png
 
When in a different tab, a small green dot will appear next to the Chat tab letting you know there are unread messages.

Deleting Chat Messages or Threads

Producers have the ability to either individually select Presenters' chat messages to remove or bulk delete entire chat room threads. Presenters are only able to delete their own messages.

If you would like to delete an individual chat message, simply hover your cursor next to the text bubble you would like to remove and click the Trashcan icon that appears:

How

A window will pop up asking you to confirm your action. Click the green "Delete" button to delete your chat:

How

If you would like to completely wipe a chat room's message history, simply enter the room and select the three dots next to the room's name: 

Screen_Shot_2023-05-25_at_3.59.37_PM.png

Then, click the "Clear Chat" bubble that pops up and voila! An empty chat room. Please note that only Producer's have the ability to clear the chat.

Screen_Shot_2023-05-25_at_3.59.53_PM.png

Top